About Us

Hi! We’re the Barr-Wilsons. We are currently serving as Peace Corps Volunteers in South Africa (July 2007-April 2009). As we are able, we will update this blog to share our adventures with you. May the spirit of service embrace you wherever you may be.

BenSuz

 

Benjamin

  • Age: 31
  • Gender: Male
  • Astrological Sign: Libra
  • Zodiac Year: Snake
  • Industry: Education
  • Occupation: Science Educator
  • Location: South Africa

Susie

  • Age: 29
  • Gender: Female
  • Astrological Sign: Capricorn
  • Zodiac Year: Sheep
  • Industry: Non-Profit
  • Occupation: Recreation Program Director
  • Location: South Africa

Imported from Blogger…

Susie’s Interests

  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • rock-climbing
  • scrapbooking
  • friends
  • family
  • women’s health
  • young women’s empowerment
  • singing
  • ballroom dancing

Susie’s Favorite Movies

  • Love Actually
  • Rent
  • Grease
  • Princess Bride
  • 50 First Dates
  • Ever After
  • My Fair Lady
  • Finding Nemo
  • Batman Begins
  • Serenity
  • Bourne Identity
  • Office Space

Susie’s Favorite Music

  • Late Tuesday
  • Dixie Chicks
  • Dave Matthews
  • O.A.R.
  • Martina McBride
  • Shania Twain
  • Alison Krauss
  • CCR
  • IZ
  • Nellie McKay
  • Bob Marley

Susie’s Favorite Books

  • Old Turtle
  • Little World: A Book About Tolerance
  • Women’s Bodies Women’s Wisdom
  • Harry Potter series
  • Da Vinci Code
  • Nine Hills to Nambonkaka

One Response

  1. Hi – Where do start ok I recently won a research grant to do a project in SA – I am living in Potchefstroom (1.5hr west of Joburg) at Northe West University. I am originally born and raised primarily in Canada however I moved to Jamaica where I had lived for like ten years. I knew many many many Peace Corps Volunteers there and eventually I became a Technical Trainer for their Environmental Sector for one of their groups. I was told if I needed to meet people need help, travelling mates or conversation contact Peace Corps. I am verging on desperate – no ok I have been here just a month and I would really like to meet people who want to travel around (on a budget) who are not scared of their shadows, acknowledge that this is not the same as ‘where ever they came’ but enjoy it either way! I love being here I enjoy every second and I really like to meet some people see some of your projects (your welcome to see mine – its starting up right now with teen girls and disaster risk reduction). Come by for the weekend whatever ? Is this any PCVs in this area – I am in North West Province not particularly far from Pretoria. I would love to do something over Easter but everyone I know here is leaving on going to their families etc. Im here till November.

    (I suddenly appreciate how my PCVs in Jamaica felt when they arrived – culture shock a little isolation etc.)
    I would appreciate any calls or emails 0823986152
    or
    kylah.forbesbiggs@nwu.ac.za

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: