Moving up in the world… at least in age.

About a month ago I was sitting working on a computer at Abbotspoort Higher Primary when the Mr. Moruane (the principal) came and lay a hand on my shoulder. He said that an emergency meeting was about to commence at the local secondary school. An emergency meeting sounded serious, and interesting, so I asked if I could tag along.

The meeting was in regards to the low, low matric scores from last years grade 12 learners. The matric examination is required test that learners must pass in order to graduate here in SA. Majadibodu Secondary is one of the, of not the, largest secondary schools in the the Lephalale Municipality and 70% of its learners failed the examination (ouch). It turns out that only a few years ago Majadibodu had been one of the top schools and had been declining steadily over the past 4 years.

At the meeting there were counselors from the municipality, the mayor of the municipality itself, representatives from circuit and regional levels for education as well as the educators from Majadibodu secondary and their feeder school Abbotspoort Higher Primary. Also a representative from the ANC Youth League was present.

The meeting was really a meeting of the minds as to how to help a struggling secondary scho0l find its way back into the light. At the end of the meeting I approached the principal of Majadibodu and offered my support. After talking with both of much supervising principals at my two primary schools I began helping out with science and mathematics for the grade 12 learners one day a week. I have been teaching physics the physics class, and preparing the lab for a chemistry experiment. To the learners knowledge there hadn’t been a lesson containing a practical element taught during their time at Majadibodu and considering the disarray I found when exploring their science materials I can believe it.

I have also been helping out after school. Learners are required to stay from 3:15 to 4:15 in grades 10, 11 and 12 in order to study and work on homework/classwork. During this time some learners asked if I could come back on Saturday. It turns out that learners gather at the school on Saturday in order to study in a quiet place with friends to help. Teachers do not come, just the dedicated learners. Some learners desire to do well and therefore are willing to put in the extra time to accomplish their dreams. If I can in anyway help them I will. Although I have only had the opportunity to go once since I have been asked I have enjoyed the chance to work on math, physics and chemistry at the high school level once again. Hurray for wider opportunities.

-Benjamin

One Response

  1. Still can’t believe the “track meet” where they let kids run to the point of exhaustion and fainting. They really should be taught about proper sports training and conditioning.

    I’m surprised no one has ever died. Can’t they run in the early morning hours only?

    But it did look like they were having fun…at least those that remained conscious!

Leave a comment